Tuesday, July 26, 2011

This Oneness "Surprize" (USA,1975,)

This Oneness, aka "Goldstreet" The Minnesota based Jazz-Fusion-Rock "This Oneness" musicians consisted of Greg Inhofer, Dale Strength, (both from the band Pepper Fog), Robyn Lee, Doug Nelson, and Bernie Pershey, formerly of White Lightning. John Ebert was Sound Engineer with his owner-operator miniature "Wall of Sound" equipment. In the 1960s and 1970s, "pepper fog" was an aerial spray dispersed from helicopters over anti-war demonstrations that would make you eyes water, and I presume that is the inspiration for that bands name. This Oneness musical styles covered Mahavishnu Orchestra Birds of Fire and Chick Corea's "Return To Forever" Hymn of the Seventh Galaxy album (and was the opening act for Chick on the east coast once). This Oneness group also backed Olivia-Newton-John on her road tours in America from May 1974 through 1975, also appearing on the NBC Mar. 7th 1975 "Midnite Special" broadcast. The May 1974 midwestern colleges tour managed by Variety Theater International were Olivia's first American stage appearances. These very enthusiastic audience turnouts convinced everyone to go forward with her future musical endeavors in America. These early tours included one show at the 1975 Minnesota State Fair Grandstand racetrack stage to a record audience. The group played Harrah's South Shore Room at Lake Tahoe Nov. 6, 1975. While in town, William B. Harrah had the group out for a day trip on the lake in his 33 foot Chris Craft run-about outfitted with two 12 cylinder aircraft engines capable of a peak speed of 55 mph. In 1976 This Oneness desired to return their focus to writing and producing their "Surprize" album and work on promotion of the group once again. Leaving Olivia was not an easy emotional decision for the band to make. The band wrote "Song For Olivia" in parting. (This commentary was written by my dear friend,isabel)
more... http://minnewiki.publicradio.org/index.php/This_Oneness

Side 1
1.You Can't Do That !(1:45)
   a.Lunar sunrise
3.Please Let The Sunshine(5:36)
4.Song for Olivia(3:09)
5.In Out In Out(4:06)

Side 2
1.Radio Free Amerika(7:13)
2.Merging Diversions(8:44)
3.Surprize (Reprise)("NO" note)
4.Go In Peace(3:45)

Bernie Pershey:   drums,percussion,vocals,and lyrics
Douglas Nelson:   electric basses,vocals,and percussion
Dale Strength:   vocals,acoustic and electric guitars and percussion
Greg Inhofer:   vocals,electronic and acoustic pianos,six and twelve string guitars,and percussion 
Robyn Lee:   flute,saxophone,organ,synthesizer,and vocals

Merging Diversions

ripped from original LP.
Equipments I used are....
turntable....DENON DP-47F
CD recorder....Pioneer PDR-D5
phono equalizer...ONKYO PE-155
stereo graphic qualizer....Technics SH-8075
sazanami......scratch noise remover(PC software)

Sunday, July 17, 2011

hi folks! as some of you know, we have got a service called Pnf Blogwatch, at 2007 we opened it to public, and it was one of the first web application that is written for music blogs. with visual presentation and selective categories it was ahead of its time.

congratulations to all of us, we at last boomed the server with high traffic and computational load. :)

Stay tuned for the next version with many new features!!

Monday, July 04, 2011

Canzoniere Del Lazio - "Spirito Bono" {Italy} [1975]

Canzoniere del Lazio were formed in Rome in 1972 and they are considered as one of the most important progressive folk bands in Italy during the seventies.

Their beginnings were strongly inspired by reworkings of central Italy traditional tunes based on a quartet of totally acoustic instrumentists. So their first album in 1973 ("Quando Nascesti Tune") which didn't have a particular success. Singer Sara Modigliani left after the album. more

a1. Ballo in Re (Festa)
a2. Ballu
b1. Morte di Pulcinella
b2. Coccodè

- Carlo Siliotto / violin, mandolin, tenor fluggelhorn and vocals
- Piero Avallone / drums, putipù and vocals
- Piero Brega / vocals, electric bass, acoustic guitar
- Luigi Cinque / soprano and tenor saxes, clarinet and piccolo
- Francesco Giannattasio/ percussions, organ, accordion, tenor sax and vocals
- Pasquale Minieri / electric and acoustic guitars, electric bass, contrabass and mandolin


link in comments...